About Me

Born and Raised: Tupelo, Mississippi. Celebrated everywhere by locals as the birthplace of Elvis, thus encouraging distinguished citizens my dad to perform impressions, complete with lip-curl, on demand. Or without it. ūüėČ

Currently: Reside in Memphis, TN. Domestic Engineer, Educational Coordinator, Recreation Manager for family of seven humans (the numbers change by the day around here, folks), one dog, one cat, eleven goats, and a whole mess of crazy.

Things I Blog About: All things adoption, motherhood, marriage, infertility, family, God, church, books, parenting, foster care, culture, and anything that annoys me in regards to any of the above. I would like to blog about being healthy, but my appalling lack of commitment to regular exercise and addiction to Girl Scout cookies is severely limiting post ideas in this category.

Places I Learned Stuff: The University of Mississippi, B.A. in English and Journalism. The University of Memphis, M.A.T. in Teaching; School Library Information Specialist.

Previous Career: High-school English teacher. Abused coffee, pushed literature, and taught kids to passionately love the English language. (Okay, that last part is a lie, but I did try.) Paradoxically, now finding a perverse pleasure in writing largely in fragments. But would fail you for doing the same thing on a paper.

Things I Love: God‚Äôs sense of humor, mission-minded authors (the Hatmakers!), open adoption, date nights with Charlie, family dinner nights, board games, destroying Charlie in Scramble and Words with Friends, the beach, sunny days, snowy days, the Memphis Zoo, Shelby Farms, Yellow Box flipflops, yoga pants, singing with my sister, kids who draw cartoons on their homework, clean sheets, breakfast for dinner, mugs of hot tea or coffee, naptime (the baby‚Äôs or mine), the hamster dance song, colorful scarves, flannel pajamas all pajamas, a clean house (especially when I didn’t have to clean it), clearance rack at the Limited, organization (label maker!), pedicures, consignment sales, baby clothes, food (especially of the chocolate variety or made by my Mama), traveling, staying at home, inside jokes with friends.

Things I Don’t Love: toddler tantrums, new-home construction, video games, clutter, open cabinet doors, cold weather without snow, sinus drainage, long toe-nails, most rap music, poor grammar, trying to maintain order in the last class called for the pep rally, all laundry-related tasks,  to-do lists, mean people, the DMV, poverty, social injustice, apathy.

Things I’m Working On: time-management, stress-reduction, priorities, loving my neighbor as myself, serving the least, forgiveness, being more healthy, being more patient, simplifying. Oh yeah, and teaching the dog to stop eating dirty diapers.

About the folks you might come across in my blog…

The Husband: Charlie. A rather attractive veterinarian who sometimes brings his work home to poop, pee, or bleed rest peacefully on the living room rug. Sings beautiful songs, slightly off-key, to his daughters with the sole purpose of making us all adore him. Understands that cupcakes are a supreme expression of love. Fearless adventurer who challenges me to try new things and finds laughter in the resulting mishaps. Encourager, protector, and best friend.

Micah, 8 months. Adopted through open, domestic adoption in June 2014. Nicknamed “Smiley.” Busy trying to walk, cutting teeth, and locating every single scrap of paper, Barbie shoe, hair tie, fuzzball, or other tiny object on the floor for immediate insertion into her mouth. Talents include laugh-screaming like an operatic Velociraptor and imitating a possessed Anaconda during diaper changes.

Ellie, 4: Adopted through open, domestic adoption in February 2011, she specializes in complete destruction of my house. Current interests include anything outdoors, climbing everything, all things Frozen, Barbies, baby dolls, and ice cream.

Karlos, 19: – Joined our family through foster care. Home since May 2013. Adoption finalized November 2013. ¬†Fearless recipient of multiple facial piercings. Connoisseur of extremely varied musical selections. Interests¬†include Star Wars decor, Spiderman, chips, obtaining a driver’s license and car, and her girlfriend.

Herdest, 21: College junior at Tennessee State University with aspirations of becoming a veterinarian. Adoption finalized December, 2014. Headed to Australia to study abroad summer 2015. Enjoys scary movies, church choir, GRE vocabulary reviews, and steak dinners.

Ian, 23:¬†¬†Full-time employee at ONYX Medical. Originally from Kenya, his beautiful accent is a hit with the ladies. Makes a mean omelet and loves his lime green Mustang. Hopes to join the Shelby County Sheriff’s Department soon. An artist who drew an imposing portrait of Don Vito Corleone used to intimidate my students for years.

Rip: Lassie-like Sheltie born onto my bathroom floor five minutes after my husband left for work. Oh, the irony, as I tried to figure out how to use dental floss to tie off the umbilical cord while Charlie laughed on the other end of the phone. Ha. Ha. Rip survived my feeble mid-wife attempts, and five years later, is a polite, obedient boy who only sometimes gives in to the temptation of the diaper-genie. Spends most of his time these days trying to avoid the little people intent on removing all his hair.

Bipsy: The typical fat cat. Spends the large majority of her day crying loudly for food or napping. Occasionally sneaks into my bedroom in the middle of the night to slap me awake and demand petting. May or may not have been unceremoniously shoved off the bed at such times.

So yeah, that’s me. If you want to know anything else, just ask. ūüôā¬†

Comments on this entry are closed.